Hate it when it happens to me

“Hey, I’ve got some idea to write down and I think it’s a good thing to be brought up.” 57 words later. “Nah, that idea is often discussed and a lot of good writing are already out there. Why do you even bother?”

Have you ever feel that way? It’s nearly always happen to me. Sometimes I want to blame my confidence but that means I’m blaming others and not myself (I know it doesn’t makes sense but please bear with it.) And actually blaming myself won’t solve anything. So, what do I do? As a soon-to-be engineer, it’s my duty to find a solution for myself.

This blog is already 2 years old and not much post I write because that kind of block. Yeah, I’ve actually found the solution but I often forgot where do I put it. Luckily, I brought it with me this time…. Wait a minute, where do I put it just now? Insert your imagination here. Ah.. There you are. Meanwhile, I’m trying to read it what I’m going to tell you.

So, there’s a lot of reason why I don’t have the confidence about my own writing skill. One of the reason is because I’m not have my own writing style yet. It’s not consistent to be precise. The other reason is sometimes, I don’t know why I’m writing. When I read my early post, I said it to myself, I write to know myself and sometimes I write just because of other thing such as gaining follower, likes or views and it’s not completely wrong but I often write about what people likes or believes not what I likes or believes. I know it sounds like I’m egoist. I used word ‘I’ a lot though. And there’s reason that sometimes I don’t feel my post is good enough. Yeah, it’s almost equal with the previous reason but this is more about the comparison to the other. There is still 98 reasons why I do not believe in my own writing skill but let’s skip the rest because it’s not that important and I’m sure you wouldn’t want to read it.

First of all, to overcome that kind of block is surely having a confidence in your own writing style. Maybe the paragraph is disordered, maybe the vocabulary that used is still limited, or maybe you afraid that people didn’t understand and all of them are normal. Embracing it as your own style is he first step. Improving is the next and I suggest that you don’t switch it. Know your strength and weakness then you know what do you need to do to fix the weakness. Perfect is boring afterall so don’t be ashamed of your style. Some of us will like it.

Second, know your reason why you are writing. Not about the topic that you will write or how will you tell your story, but your reason why you are writing. Do you write just for fun? Do you write to argue? Do you write to inspire? Do you write to warn people? Anything would do but knowing it is important.

Third, it’s the easiest I guess is to believe some random guy will stumbled upon your story and he will like it. Maybe it’s not this year or next year and if you’re not that patient, you could increase your chance by increasing the amount of your post and read some tips how to get reader (re:fans).

And that’s all the tips that I got from the solution, maybe I will buy a new one because it’s a little outdated but I hope it helps you. Or maybe some comment about the tips will help me too.

Leave a Reply

