Floating cola float

“Welcome to Weenie Hut, Can I help you?”

“No.” Jerry and Maria were surprised by Jerry’s response. Even he surprised by his own word. What in the world happen to a customer that come to cashier but didn’t intend to order anything.

“Umm… Sorry, a cola float please.” Jerry tried to set the mood back.

“Certainly. Anything else?” Maria was also trying to smile and calm herself.

“No. That’s all.” He said it after he took a deep breath.

“Dine in or take away?” She’s grateful that she’s still remember the drill.

“Take away, but no plastic bag please.”

“That would be 2 dollars.” Two dollars were given right away.

“Please wait for a moment.” Coke was filled into a plastic cup not so long after and filled with ice cream on top of it.


“Here you go.”

“Thank you.” The atmosphere was back to normal when he’s smiled seeing his drink in his hand.

“You’re welcome.” She’s smiled seconds away before Jerry dropped the float. He turned around and directly hit a guy.

“Sorry about that.” The guy actually apology first.

“No, it’s fine.” The drink was the most simple thing that could go well but it was spoiled.

“No, it’s not. I’ll buy a new one for you.”

“No sir, it’s my mistake to not be careful.”

“It’s fine kid. It’s on me. Don’t need to worry about it. A cola float for you?”

“No sir, I’m fine.”

“I insist boy.”

Jerry abruptly ran away. He is insecured. He thought that it’s all his mistake. He stopped somewhere not so far and stood silent. Maria ended her shift and accidently saw him. She asked him is there any thing that she could do. She saw all of the incident. He didn’t want to answer it.

She left him right away. He start to thought about it again. How clumsy he was. Failed his exam. Late to school. Left his favourite lunch today. His friend left him alone for a project group. It might be his worst day he thought.

She return back with another cola float and gave it to his face. He let it stay in the air for a while. She hang it still while waiting for him and smile.

“It’s okay. Bet your day has been rough. I’ve been there.” She nudge him to take the cola float.

“Take it. It’ll make you feel better.”

He take it and have a sip on it.

“It’s from the man before. Taste good, doesn’t it?”

“Yes. Thank you very much. I’ve failed my exam today and my friend didn’t come to my house to do a project group. I wonder why…. Sorry, shouldn’t have told you.”

“It’s fine. You don’t need to trust me with your story.”

“Thanks a lot. I feel bad about the incident just now. I should return and apologise.” His body starting to lose the tense.

“Well, you should go back asap before he leave.”

Leave a comment